The Battle of Good vs Evil: Pray for Pastor Youcef


Pastor Youcef Nadarkhani

 

 

Woe to those who call evil good and good evil,
who put darkness for light and light for darkness,
who put bitter for sweet and sweet for bitter!

Isaiah 5:20

I want to write a brief article on the current situation in America. Today, I turned on the news only to find that the “lead story” was the “killing of Anwar al-Aulaqi, the U.S born terrorist linked to Al Qaeda.” This is big news today and the president was quick to come out and take credit for this “victory against the war on terror.”

But what about the terror within out own borders?

What about the terror of leaders who serve themselves and not those they have been ordered to serve and protect?

Right now, as I write this Youcef Nadarkhani, a Christian Pastor in Iran is awaiting execution for “Apostasy” for not denouncing his faith in Christ. This story is barely even being mentioned by the main stream media while the story of the killing of a wicked Muslim terrorist takes the headlines. We truly live in a world that has its priorities completely backwards.

This man, a true Christian, is standing firm in His faith and is willing to “lay down his life” rather than turn his back on His God. I often wonder how many Christians in America, if put in that position, would respond as he has. I fear that number may be smaller than any of us imagine. But that is a blog post for another day.

I want to state a truth that must be acknowledged. Not all who say they are Christians are really Christians. I can say I am a “lover of my wife” but if I sleep around and stay out every night with my buddies, people might look at me and discard my claims of loving my wife. We must do the same with those who say they are Christians but disobey His commands.

John 14:21 says, “Whoever has my commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves me. And he who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and manifest myself to him.”

While the President has stated that he is a Christian, his actions have reflected the contrary. This man is no Christian. Today, he took a great deal of time to “boast in His killing of al-Aulaqi” but has been silent on the unjust imprisonment and impending murder of a Christian Man standing up for freedom and that which is good and right and just.  If Obama was truly a Christian, he would not “rejoice in the death of the wicked” and he would surely not stand by in silence when God has given Him a platform to bring justice to those in Iran who are seeking to murder Pastor Youcef.

Jesus tells us in Mark 10:42-45 how a true leader is called to lead.

And Jesus called them (his disciples) to him and said to them, “You know that those who are considered rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and their great ones exercise authority over them. But it shall not be so among you. But whoever would be great among you must be your servant, and whoever would be first among you must be slave of all. For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

I am asking that everyone pray for Pastor Youcef and His family. We must pray for our nation and its leaders, that they would repent of their wicked choices and return to the Lord. If our countries leaders stay silent on this issue, we can be assured that greater atrocities lie ahead. Especially for those of faith, and others who love justice and freedom.  If you are a Christian, stand firm in the faith and do not shrink back when you are brought into your time of testing. For it is how we respond in times of suffering and great trial that our faith is confirmed or rejected.

Like the Founder and Perfector of our faith Jesus Christ, and many other saints of old, Pastor Youcef would rather lay down his life, in obedience to God and for the sake of His love for His neighbors, than cower before evil in fear.

Men like Yousef are those who we should be learning from and seeking to mold our lives after.  He is a man that our children should be learning about in their classrooms. But unfortunately, they will never know of Him. Instead they will learn of dead terrorists, gay pride marches, and celebrity drug overdoses.

I am not one to complain but use that which is evil to bring light to all that is good. God is calling us as a church to stand in the gap for those who have no voice. We must plead for the unborn child that hasnt had a chance to thrive; we must call out for the orphan who is raising his little brothers and sisters after an earthquake killed his family and destroyed his home; and we must call attention to the pastor who is about to be killed because of what he believes about God.

1 John 3:18 says, “Little children, let us not love in word or talk but in deed and in truth.”

Many of our leaders in both the government and the church do a great job loving with their words. But their deeds or lack thereof would cause us to think otherwise.  Remember, faith without works is dead. (James 1)

“Silence in the face of evil is itself evil: God will not hold us guiltless. Not to speak is to speak. Not to act is to act.—Dietrich Bonhoeffer

About Benjamin

My name is "Benjamin" and I am a grateful believer in Jesus Christ. I spent the first 22 years of my life in darkness. I was an atheist who worshiped many false gods, including drugs, alcohol, women, and success. When Christ lifted the veil from off my eyes, and I was able to see His perfect holiness in light of my depravity, I was brought to my knees. God's truth penetrated my heart and now I live to follow His Son, who "for the joy that was set before him, endured the cross, despising its shame and is seated at the right hand of God" Hebrews 12:2. I view the world through a biblical worldview with an absolute conviction in the absolute truth that there is a God, and He has a Son, and His name is Jesus. In a world that worships the god of moral relativism, that is the belief that there is no absolute truth, I live my life to shine the light of Gods absolute truth into the darkness of this false reality. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Leave a comment